Surrounded by such rich history, it only seemed fitting that we pay tribute to the many businesses that resided at 14 N. Park Place before us. Thus, what's in a name? In our case, a lot. One benefit of coworking spaces is meeting rooms, and we have chosen to recognize past tenants through the names given to our three conference rooms.
- The Atherton Meeting Room is located on our first floor with room for 25 people. It's named for one of the first owners of our space, H. A. Atherton, who happened to be the mayor of Newark in 1909. Atherton owned and operated a cigar business in our building. He was also known for gambling, and we suppose the gambling board currently in our stairway is thanks to him.
- Our second-floor meeting room is The Playhouse Meeting Room, which can hold up to 8 guests. It is named after Playhouse Amateur Theatrics, who used the space for rehearsals and performances in the 1950s. Does anyone remember attending The Glass Menagerie in 1949? An evening out back then may have included a show in our space.
- Our third-floor meeting room is The Parlor Meeting Room, which also holds 8 guests. It's named after the Parisian Parlor, a beauty parlor that specialized in manicures and facials in the early 1900s, owned and operated by Mrs. Virginia Stewart.